Shade of the Almighty

Yesterday evening, as I was looking at the empty cross after our living stations production, Psalm 91 came to mind.

He who dwells in shelter of the Most High
and abides in the shade of the Almighty
says to the Lord: “My refuge,
my stronghold, my god in whom I trust!”

In my mind’s eye I saw up there, on that cross, the outstretched arms of Christ; it dawned on me that those outstretched arms were the shelter of the Most High; they cast the shade of the Almighty.  It is in and under those outstretched arms that we are meant to be.  They are our protection against the buffets of the evil one; they are our strength, our reassurance.  From under those arms of love we can rest in total safety, refresh our tired bodies and souls, and feel peace and joy.

I thought that if this is so desirable for us, then it is from those arms we must go out to bring others under their shelter, to share the shade of love and help others to come to the peace and joy we receive; and it is back to them, to that stronghold, that we can go to heal our wounds and re-energize from those efforts.

Leave a Reply

