‘God Moments’

This weekend at the Masses I assisted with, I sadly noticed that I didn’t hear ‘We Three Kings’; one of my favorite carols, one that, to me, the tune fits well with my idea of the wandering Magi.

I was thinking about that as I walked to my car after the last Mass only to find out that I had lost my car key.  After much searching I came to realize that my wife would have to come and help me and that it was really a bother, since she is sick.  Needless to say, it was looking like a trying time – when all of a sudden the bell tower burst into ‘We Three Kings’  and seeing Father David and Father Franklin walking towards their house  I pointed to the tower, smiling, and said ‘Finally; I have not heard it all day long.’

God coming when you least expect it.

After my wife helped my find another key, and finally on my way home I thought of another instance where God came when it wasn’t expected. “magi from the east arrived in Jerusalem, saying, ‘Where is the newborn king of the Jews? We saw his star at its rising and have come to do him homage.’ When King Herod heard this, he was greatly troubled…” It dawned on me that the critical point in these meeting, these Epiphanies, is our reaction to God’s interaction with us.

Do we rejoice at these ‘God Moments’; allowing His peace to permeate our souls and enjoy the closeness of our Lord; or do we become greatly troubled as did Herod?  Do we allow the event to work within us for our spiritual growth or do we become annoyed and struggle against it?

It seems to me the answer lies in how we accept Christ in our lives.  Do we allow Christ to take control, allow Him to guide us; do we decrease so He can increase?  Or do we keep control, and only let Him enter when it is convenient for our plans?  The first leads to joy and peace, freedom that allows us to savor those God-moments; the second leads to manic chasing of false moments of joy, and frustration when they don’t last.

My prayer for us is to keep up the good fight that allows us to always feel the peace and joy that I hope we all felt sometime on Christmas Day when that wave of shear awe and joy brought tears to our eyes that God was born to us and we realized that He did it for us for no other reason than His love for us.  May these God-moments come more often and last longer.

Leave a Reply

